New Blog, New Me

20120920-080508.jpg
I made this dish for dinner last night. I call it a surprise because it started off as a surprise to me, as in I didn’t know what I was going to put in it until I started with sweet potatoes and just added as I went along. Turned out great, actually. The husband really liked it but the son did not (he doesn’t like sweet potatoes). Here’s my surprise..

Sweet Potato Surprise

3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 size chunks
1 large bell pepper, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic
1 can cannelloni beans (should use dried but I had canned), drained and rinsed
1/2 water
salt and pepper
1 tablespoon of your fav herbs (I used basil and parsley with a sprinkle of chili power)

In a lightly oiled pan, cook the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. 3-4 mins. Add sweet potatoes and water. Cover, stirr occasionally, and cook about 7-8 mins. Being careful to not overcook. Add cannelloni beans and herbs. Stir occasionally and cook for 2-3 more mins. Serve and enjoy.
Note: You can also cook 1-2 cups of brown rice, add 4 cups of veggie stock, and the Sweet Potato Surprise. You’ve got soup!! Easy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

