New Blog, New Me

Will You Take The Dare?

I started practicing yoga a few years ago when I was in college. I began taking yoga class because I had a break in between my classes and I wanted to fill my day. It was technically a class so I figured it would be an easy way to get an A for a 1 credit hour class. I was a little self-conscious going into my first class, I assumed I would be the chubby girl amongst a bunch of skinny athletes… To my surprise the class was full of all types of people. Some skinny, some a bit larger than myself. Girls and guys. Those like myself who prob never really work out and others who were total athletes… On the first day of class I was totally nervous, I didnt know what to expect, and I was trying to talk myself out of it. Had I gone crazy?! Theres no way *I* could do yoga! Ack! Well, fast forward to several semesters later, not only had I kept up with my yoga practice but I also had come to love it! (And a little brag, I was actually good at it. What a shock!) I loved my instructors, there was one in particular that I really connected with. She was a very kind instructor, very encouraging and such a positive person. Anywho, Im sure at first I wasnt graceful. And I def couldnt touch my toes, didnt have good balance. Eh. As time went to I advanced and was able to push my body in ways that I really didnt think I could. Headstands, balance poses, being energized after the class instead of tired!! When I was able to do an arm balance I came home and showed off to the husband! Hahaha. Once I graduated college my yoga practice kinda, slowed and then stopped… :/

Well I miss it! Now that Im running and training for the half marathon I really want to stay stretched out to prevent any injuries so Ive started yoga again! I try to do it 20-30 mins in the morning to energize me and 20-30 mins at night to help me relax. Every day. The days I run, do 20 mins focusing on legs and hips after my run. And the days I dont run, do 20 mins of core work during the day. (Just typing this out is making me want to go and do some yoga!!)

Yoga

Yoga

I found a great yoga website that has fab resources, YogaJournal.com. It has poses, you can build sequences of poses, articles, recipes, and tons of other stuff. Helpful to beginners, like me. Oh and also, it has videos! Free videos! You can choose a yoga video by your skill level, by length, teacher, or by practice. So it pretty much has whatever you would be looking for. Did I mention, its FREE! //Here//

I dare you, do a weeks worth of yoga & I bet you’ll feel so fantastic. Come join me! 🙂

Why do yoga? The short answer is that yoga makes you feel better. Practicing the postures, breathing exercises and meditation makes you healthier in body, mind and spirit. Yoga lets you tune in, chill out, shape up — all at the same time.

For starters, yoga is good for what ails you. Specifically, research shows that yoga helps manage or control anxiety, arthritis, asthma, back pain, blood pressure, carpal tunnel syndrome, chronic fatigue, depression, diabetes, epilepsy, headaches, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, stress and other conditions and diseases. What’s more, yoga:

  • Improves muscle tone, flexibility, strength and stamina
  • Reduces stress and tension
  • Boosts self esteem
  • Improves concentration and creativity
  • Lowers fat
  • Improves circulation
  • Stimulates the immune system
  • Creates sense of well being and calm.
Comments on: "Will You Take The Dare?" (1)

  1. I love reading through and I think this website got some really great stuff on it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

