New Blog, New Me

Ive never been a big breakfast person. Now I usually drink a protein shake with fruit for b-fast (its quick and easy). Before I went veg I would have a bowl of cereal (Honey Bunches of Oats was my fav). While in highschool I would eat a large Fudge Round (real healthy, huh?! lol) and when I was sick/didnt feel good my mama would sometimes fix me a huge bowl of Froot Loops … but she would pick out the yellow, green, and orange loops. BahHahaha (talk about spoiled)!! Ive never been one to eat eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, ect…

Well, last time I went grocery shopping for tofu I bought the firm cubed kind, thinking that they would be good for putting on skewers and grilling. But I didnt realize that the cubes would be so small! Way to small for skewers! So I googled different ways of cooking the tofu and found scrambled tofu (like scrambled eggs). I cooked it over the weekend and it was good… very easy and quick! It tasted strangely like scrambled eggs! The perfect dish for those who have a craving for eggs, except its healthier!

Tofu Scramble

Tofu Scramble with Tomatoes and Avocado

Tofu Scramble with Tomatoes and Avocado

1 block firm, cubed tofu (frozen first)
2 tbsp oil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
2 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional but strongly suggested)
salt and pepper to taste
veggies of your choice (optional)

Note: I strongly suggest freezing your tofu first because the texture of frozen tofu is more like eggs. If you forget or dont have time, it will still turn out fine. (How to freeze tofu.)
Place the tofu in a ziplock bag, using your hands mash the cubes “crumbling” it until it looks like the consistency of scrambled eggs. Sautee onion, pepper and crumbled tofu in oil over medium heat for 3-5 minutes, stirring often. Add turmeric, salt, pepper, and any veggies (optional) and continue to cook for 5 mins, stirring often. Sprinkle with nutritional yeast and serve. (The turmeric makes it taste like eggs and the nutritional yeast adds a salty, cheese/buttery flavor)
Note: Tofu scramble is very versatile. You can add whatever veggies or spices you have on hand. My fav combination is making a Veggie Tofu Scramble Sandwich with toasted whole wheat bread, the scrambled tofu, tomatoes, avocado, and a dollop of salsa. Burrito style would be really yummy too!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

