New Blog, New Me

You know how “they” say that weight loss is 80% healthy eating and 20% exercise. Ive been trying to eat out less and cook at home. Dirty little secret time, we tent to eat out a lot. It get expensive and even though I try to order things that are as healthy as possible, I know its not really that healthy. Case in point, I had to go to Olive Garden the other day for a baby shower. How do you eat Olive Garden and vegan? Well the OG isn’t my most favorite restaurant, the only pasta dish they have that I can eat it spaghetti and *I* can make sketty far better then theirs! So I ordered veggie pizza without cheese. I logged my meal into MyFitnessPal app and was shocked to read that my ‘healthy’ dinner was 900-some calories! Say whaaaat?! And the sodium was really high too. :\ Womp. Womp.

A lot of my problem has to do with me being too lazy/tired/busy (whatever you want to call it) to prep and cook. By the time dinner rolls around, the hubby comes home from work starving (because he usually skips breakfast and lunch!), begging for food, I don’t feel like jumping right then to cook something, so we go out! I will plan and buy a weeks worth of meals and then go out twice-ish a week for dinner. Ack!

So no more out to eat! Last week (or maybe 2 weeks ago) I had a hankering for Mexican so I searched on Pinterest and found enchiladas! Yum! I was going to assemble, fill/roll the enchiladas, and then bake them but once I started I was like, aint no body got time for that! so instead I made a Lazy (Wo)man’s Vegan Enchilada Bake with a side of Cilantro Lime Brown Rice. I used the Steamfresh brand rice (that’s in the freezer section, it comes in a bag, and you microwave it for 5 mins, then DONE!) and added cilantro + lime to it. Oh so easy! And bonus, delish! Its packed full of veggies, the kid loved it and even the meat-eater hubby gave his complements!

***Updated to add..

Oh how could I forget! The baby loved her enchilada dinner so much that she scarfed it down and even licked her plate. And of course, being the good mama that I am, I took pictures! Lol. Here’s what Bethany thought of dinner!

20130913-081050.jpg

20130913-081129.jpg
Now it’s time to get serious!

20130913-081220.jpg

20130913-081317.jpg

Vegan Lazy Baked Enchilada!

Lazy Enchilada Bake

Lazy Enchilada Bake

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can corn, drained
1 can tomatoes with zesty mild green chillies, drained
1 onion, diced
veggies of choice (I used 1 cooked sweet potato, 1 diced zucchini, and 1 diced squash)
salt and pepper to taste
favorite salsa (I LOVE Walmart’s Great Value brand White Corn & Black Bean Salsa)
3 whole wheat tortillas
1 package enchilada sauce (I used Frontera Green Chile Enchilada Sauce)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly oil a round baking dish. In a medium bowl combine all veggies, black beans, corn, tomatoes, onion, salt, and pepper. Layer baking dish: tortilla, veggie mixture, enchilada sauce, salsa. And repeat to make 3 layers. Drizzle the remaining enchilada sauce over the casserole. Cover and bake approx. 35 mins. Garnish with cilantro and serve with cilantro lime brown rice.

Tip: you can assemble this ahead of time and then pop it into the oven at dinner time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

