New Blog, New Me

Whats the 21DFX?

While my focus recently has been on health, a portion of that does have to do with my weight and I know that where Im at now simply is not best for my body. Since the birth of baby num 3, Ive lost 30 lbs but the beginning of this year I hit a standstill even though I still have the goal of losing 50 (ish) more lbs. Instead of getting discouraged and giving up because it wasnt happening, last week I pulled the trigger on a great fitness program that will hopefully put me even closer to my goal!

The program is 21 Day Fit Extreme and it focuses on exercise along with nutrition. As the title suggests, its only for 21 days but the short length of time is made up by the intensity of the program. I like a challenge and this most definitely fits the bill. The exercise portion is pretty easy to follow, you do the assigned workout every single day. In place of a rest day there is a yoga ‘active recovery’ day (good for me because I ❤ yoga). The diet portion is a little more complicated but sooo worth it! Its based off a recommended calorie bracket and corresponding containers you use to measure out your food. The food segment is where I really want to challenge myself!

For the past 3 years I have been vegetarian (dont eat animals but still eat egg/dairy). A decision I made for mostly health reasons vs ethical reasons. (Full disclosure, with the rare occasion of eating sushi or seafood, which is not something I really do anymore because seafood is still eating animals.) With this program I am really trying to focus on getting all of the animal products out of my diet. 21 DFX with a Vegan slant! That means no butter, eggs, cheese, milk… A clean, plant based diet!

Why? Well this something my husband posted on my Facebook, a year ago today!

OTD

I remember this! I was overdue with our baby Joseph and went grocery shopping one last time before my induction (scheduled for the 2nd), whereupon I picked up these lovely items at the grocery store: stuffed crust pizza (I picked off & threw away the frozen pepperoni, ew I know), jalapeno poppers, nutella, and oreos. Having the label of ‘vegetarian’ doesnt necessarily mean that you eat healthy and when you eat this crap all the time instead of rarely, no bueno. Believe it or not, this was me eating better then how I had been eating a meat eater! Eating better but not great. Its easy to fall into those same bad eating traps and changing those habits has taken some time.

So thats where the 21 Day Fix Vegan Extreme comes into play. Really focusing on what exactly Im eating and the effort I put into exercising to see some awesome weight loss results! (Plus, we are going down to the Keys for vacation and I have no shame to admit that I want to look as hot as possible in my bathing suit! Hahaha.)

21dfx

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

