New Blog, New Me

Tomorrow will be our first day for the 2015-2016 school year. I just spent the past 1.5 hours planning out our week and I feel like my brain has turned to mush. My fingers hurt from writing so much (so then why am I typing this blog, who knows!) Let me just say, Im giving you teachers props times 10,000! To be responsible for a classroom full of little adults, its your job to fill their brains with as much info as you can – in such a short amount of time and then try to impact them in such a way that they develop critical life skills. That’s no easy task. Plus I have teacher friends who talk of dealing with difficult parents and a myriad social issues. I would give you all Starbucks gift cards and a spa weekend if I could. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Last year was a little rough because we added baby no. 3 to the mix. I got a little disorganized (which stressed me out to the max) and so did the school work. The big kid did great but it wasn’t as well executed as I would have liked. The husband and I have talked about how to go about making changes here and there to remedy some of those issues.

How to get your homeschooling morning off right?

As I sat down today to plan out our first week back the very first thing I did was to plan morning bible reading and memory verses for the kids. My home church pastor always says to start your day off with the bible in your lap. No matter what curve ball gets thrown your way – or how our school day might turn out – at least we started on track! Lots of prayer. Lots. Will be how we keep it up.

At first I was just planning on having the kids do it but leading by example is always the best teaching tool. You can tell them what to do but it seems like actually showing them gets them further. I had their verses planned out but then that little voice in my head (re. the Holy Spirit) was like …. Wait! Youre not exempt from learning these too! Plus, I know my son will just love being able to quiz while trying to stump his mom. This will be fun for him. Im thinking of making a game out of it and at the end of the month have a little prize for accomplishing the memory verses. Ill also be posting the week’s verses here for accountability sake, but also I would love for others to join us!

My verse
Prov 31:26 She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

The big kid’s verse
Psalm 139:14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

The tot’s verse
Eph 4:32 Be kind to one another.
(I know in the pic the reference number is wrong, I caught it after I wrote it down.)

My hubby joked and asked me what verse he should try and memorize. Um. Eph 5:25. That’s all. Hahaha.

 

Comments on: "How to get your homeschooling morning off right?" (5)

  1. Beautiful! Mornings started in prayer might not be perfect, but they are definitely better. Best wishes on the coming year!

  2. This is awesome! I had my first child 7 months ago and my husband has kind of mentioned homeschooling. I just don’t know that I’m ready for that. I will, however, implement the memory verses with her. She may not be able to recite them just yet, but I know it will be beneficial for her since faith comes by hearing. I’ll be following your blog. It’s so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

