New Blog, New Me

Who do you compare to?

Do not compare yourself with others

My mom’s birthday was this week and we went back home over the weekend to celebrate. You know what that means? Lots of family and fun time. And lots of food… Birthday cake, s’mores, and pimento cheese sandwiches for days! Its all about balance, some days are great and other days are filled with pimento cheese. But that was my entire weekend.

When I got back to my house on Sunday night I was super sluggish, I climbed into bed but before I fell asleep I made an attack plan on how to get back on track this week. The only person I needed to be better than was the person I was the day before. That I can do! Instead of fretting over my weekend or comparing myself to someone else, I decided to focus on making better choices then what I had made over the weekend. Step 1: No more sweets or pimento cheese. Ha. Step 2: Search Google for some tips! Help and advice from the experts. Step 3: Make a plan and attack it! Here are my goals for this week:

Drink a ton of water. Go to bed 30 mins early. Eat meals from the 21 Day Fix Fixate cookbook. Dont eat after 9pm.

To put that into practice, I closed my kitchen at 9pm last night. Why? Late night snacking trips me up and thats when Im most likely to make that unhealthy choice. Something about after dinner ice cream while I’m watching The Walking Dead… mmm! However, studies specially show you will snack MORE if you’re watching something sad, scary, or action packed. (If you have a little extra time, read THIS, it details Cornell University’s findings on this subject and is really interesting!) So last night at 9 pm I closed my kitchen. No more eating. No mindless eating in front of the TV, no emotional eating, no more food. I made a hot cup of tea (straight tea with no sugar or milk), sat down and enjoyed that with my tv show..but that was it. I felt great making that decision.

Making simple, obtainable, specific goals to crush so that I can be better than the person I was yesterday.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

